my luck.

I’ve finally started getting serious about getting healthy.  It’s not that I haven’t wanted to get serious before, but as you know, life keeps throwing rocks at me.  My plan was to start going to the gym last week, but I had that seizure, and then my eye was so swollen at the end of the week (unrelated to the seizure), I could barely see.  I went to the gym on Monday, I attempted the first day of couch to 5k training, but realized, I need to start off a little slower than that.  I am so out of shape, it’s ridiculous.  Utterly ridiculous.

Day 1:

photo 1

I think I’m going to take one of these photos every day I go to the gym.  To hold myself accountable, or something.

Day 2:

photo 2

A friend of mine has been trying to talk me into Weight Watchers for a long time, I’ve always been hesitant and made excuses.  For some reason, I was looking up recipes for it last night, and it just clicked.  I’m definitely going to do this.  I’m terrible at making decisions with food.  I am a lover of pizza, cheeseburgers, burritos, cheesecake.  Oh man, the list goes on.  Weight watchers will help me be able to have these things, but show me a better way about it.  So, come March, I will be getting a raise at work, which will basically pay for Weight Watchers.  I’m going to do it.  And I’m really fucking excited about it. 

This morning I was leaving my house, headed to work.  I got probably 3 steps away from my door, and BLAM!   I am on my knees, with my feet 90 degrees to the side.  I really don’t know how to explain it, but I just thinking of people break dancing.  Apparently my body doesn’t know I’m not a dancer, and that my legs don’t move like that.  At least not without an immense amount of pain.  I made it to work, and still walked up the stairs.  I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to go to the gym today though, maybe I can just make it a weights day.  I don’t think that me and the treadmill are going to be able to be friends for a while.  The inner side of my knee is absolutely killing me, while I SIT, let alone walk. 

FML.  Seriously.  Just, FML.  Maybe January was just meant to get all of my bad luck out of the way, and the rest of 2014 will be better.  Fingers crossed. 

Oh, and happy anniversary to me!  4 years with Mr. Tyler today!

6 thoughts on “my luck.

  1. Good for you, Jessica! I actually have become a lifetime member of the Weight Watchers program! Last year I lost 20lbs on my own, then my work offered a free Weight Watchers @ Work program, so I joined & ended up losing another 17lbs on that program…17lbs that I didn’t think I would ever be able to lose! I really do recommend it. It’s so easy & it isn’t a fad diet (which I love); it really is a lifestyle change (as cliche as that sounds). I’m so happy you’ve decided to do it & I’m excited to see your progress. Just keep up the good work…it only gets easier! 🙂

  2. That’s terrible news – sorry to hear about your knee. Just hold onto that motivation and drive! I lost my motivation/drive as well and need to find it again. Good luck!

  3. I’m sure you’ll be able to reach your fitness goal. Don’t forget to indulge once in a while though. Congratulations on your anniversary!

Leave a Reply

