epilepsy.

As most of you know, I have epilepsy.  I was diagnosed when I was 13 years old.  Over the years, my episodes have gotten worse, more frequent and well, all around less desirable.

I was seizure free for almost 4 years, and I was really excited about that.  I was hoping that I was growing out of it, which some people do.  Unfortunately, that was not the case.  I ended up having 1 in October of 2012, and I’ve had several since then.  Most recently, today.  Luckily I was at work, and one of my co-workers used to be a paramedic, so I’m guessing he knew what to do.

I guess I’m just writing this blog post, to vent.  I don’t expect any sympathy, or answers.  Things are not in my favor.  I don’t have insurance for my medication, and without my medication, here I am.  Having seizures.

I’m being very irresponsible.  I’m still driving, even though I’m not supposed to be.  How else am I supposed to get to work?  I don’t know anyone who l ives close to my office that could drive me, the public transportation sucks here.  I mean, I live approximately 7 miles from my office.  According to the Dart schedule, it would take a little less than 2 hours to get there.  How the hell does that work?

I don’t know, I don’t know what to do.  I’ve started looking into programs that will help pay for the medication, hopefully I find something quick.  I would like to get my episodes under control.  I’m tired of being scared, all the time.  So, wish me luck.  Oh, and if any of you have any suggestions, on how I can get my medication, or even see a neurologist, without insurance, and without costing me a ton of money that I don’t have, I would greatly appreciate it.

4 thoughts on “epilepsy.

  1. My love– what about IHS in your area? Dallas has a hospital, yes?

    I want to commend you too, for starting to think about prioritizing your health! It takes a lot to even get to the point of thinking about change, and you’re doing that through thinking about what you’re eating and acknowledging you need sleep. I’m proud of you!!!

  2. If they cannot meet your needs, the doctors will typically provide a referral to services that can (and pay for it). Call them. The worst that they can say is “no”.

Leave a Reply

