when i grow up

I’ve been in my current position for roughly 18 months, with the same company, for almost 3 years.  I’m miserable.  I don’t feel like my position challenges me, unfortunately, my bosses don’t feel the same way since my quality is lacking.  It’s just mindless, mind numbing work.  I need a change, but have to stick it out for a few more months.

“What do you want to do?” is the question most often asked, but I don’t have an answer for that.  I’m 30 years old, and I can’t fathom what I want to do for the rest of my life.  I know this isn’t uncommon, but it’s still a shitty feeling.  I see my friends on their career paths, finishing school with degrees they can make use of, in a field that they love.  Here I am, sitting, staring at a screen, with my thumb up my butt.

When I say it out loud, I feel silly.  Saying that I’m 30 years old, and I want to work in retail just sounds pathetic.  In the end, all I want to do is work with people, I love meeting new people, hearing new stories.  I would also like a job that makes me travel.  haha  My dream job, is to work customer service for an airline.  Eventually I would like to work myself into a supervisory or management position, but I would rather start from the bottom, and work my way up.

So, when we get to where ever we’re going (at this point it looks like it’ll be Seattle, but a month ago, it was Myrtle Beach, so who knows), that will be my goal.  To find a job in customer service, with an airline.  I will apply other various places as well, but for once, I want to be happy with my job.  I don’t want to dread going in.

You can hold me to this.  In fact, I request that you hold me to this.

until next time,

j

2 thoughts on “when i grow up

  1. You don’t have to know what you want to do for the rest of your life. People evolve over time. You just have to start somewhere.

  2. Yeah, I’m working on it. I was hoping I would like my current job more, since so many people have worked there for 20+ years. But times have changed, and things aren’t as great as they once were. :

Leave a Reply

