if at first you don’t succeed.

oday I attempted Week1-Day1 of the Couch to 5k program.  Unfortunately, I had put my phone to sleep so I didn’t waste battery while being out, and apparently the app I downloaded only operates when it’s up and running.  So, for the first 8 minutes, I was just straight walking.  After I realized what was happening, I started to work the intervals.

I know you guys can SEE what kind of shape I’m in.  Round, lumpy and not proportionate at all.  After todays failed attempt, I can FEEL how out of shape I am.  I only did 3 intervals of the “running” for 1 minute and walking for 1.5 minutes, and I feel like I want to hawk up my lungs.  I know a lot of this has to do with the fact that I am a long time smoker (which I’m also working on weeding out of my life), but damn.

After I realized that this was not going to be a completed challenge day for C25k, I opted to just walk the rest of the way home.  Which, was still not an easy task.  When I say I was walking, it was at a faster pace, so it’s not like I was taking it easy on myself.  My shins, calves and feet are all on fire.  I can even feel it a little in my abdomen, and my back/shoulders.  I arrived home, and immediately threw my shoes off and laid in the bed.

Using the MapMyRun app, this is what I was left with:

Hell.  Day 1.

Hell. Day 1.

Even though my legs are super sore already, I’m still going to do this tomorrow.  I think I need to work up a few more days of walking, and less smoking, prior to taking on Couch25k.  And I probably need to get a new pair of shoes prior to running as well because these shoes, are not friendly to my feet.

 

Until next time,

j

Leave a Reply

